top of page

Standard Bank CIB wins the Learning & Development Team of the Year Award 2019

Knowledge Resources (KR), announced the winner of the 2019 Learning and Development Team of the Year Award at the annual Learning and Development Conference, 9-11 September at Emperors Palace.

The award sets out to honour and recognise industry leaders who demonstrate excellence, innovative learning practices and make a significant contribution to the learning and development profession in Southern Africa.

Now in its 7th year, the 2019 winners were placed as follows:

  1. Winner – Standard Bank Corporate and Investment Banking (CIB)

  2. 2nd place – Ucademy (WNS)

  3. 3rd place – Discovery Institute of Training

This year's judges included industry leaders such as S’ne Magagula (Chief HR Officer, Tiger Brands), Jeanett Modise (Chief Executive: HR, Sanlam), Siphiwe Moyo (Author and Chief People Officer, Twice Blue Consulting), Dr Shirley Zinn (Author and Non-Executive Director of Boards), Linda van der Loo (Chief Learning Disruptor, Blue Pebble Consulting) and Wilhelm Crous (MD of Knowledge Resources).

The judges were looking for innovation in L&D and evidence of how the learning function contributes to the performance improvement and overall bottom line results of an organisation.

Standard Bank CIB won the 2019 awards for demonstrating strong leadership and passion for continuous learning in the L&D industry. They also indicated a comprehensive approach to learning using modern agile methodology, gamification, experiential learning and digitisation. The implementation of their L&D strategy meets both learner development needs and business requirements, with the employee experience at the centre of the approach.

Vish Sanghani, Global Head of Learning (CIB) accepted the award on behalf of the team. Judy Robison, Executive Director: Ucademy, accepted the award on behalf of the Ucademy Team and Marian Clark, Head of the Discovery Institute of Training accepted for her team at Discovery.

Congratulations to all the winners and the organisations who entered this years awards.

For any questions relating to this award and future nominations, please contact Debbie Atwell of Knowledge Resources (083 651 1664) or email:

204 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page